23/11/12

today I learned: minutes before the halifax explosion (the largest ever non-nuclear, man-made explosion), a dispatcher named vince coleman returned to his station to send a warning telegram, saving 300 lives at the cost of his own. also, 10% of all the humans who have ever lived are alive in the world right now. next, the skin of a honey badger is so thick that it can withstand multiple machete blows, arrows, and spears. wow. finally, van gogh shot himself in the chest and then went and smoked a few cigarettes before finally dying. friday bonus: on 9/11, canada landed 33,000 US bound passengers and 239 aircrafts in what is known as “operation yellow ribbon”. locals then housed and fed the strangers for days afterwards. go. canada.

2 thoughts on “23/11/12

  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • mauisgreen says:

      thanks for the kind words! I am not much of a blogger, to be honest. I began this blog so that more people could read what I was posting on facebook, and am very happy to hear that people beyond my facebook friends have found my little page. the only advice I’d be confident in giving you would be to stick with something you’re passionate about. that way posting won’t ever feel like “work”, and your writing will flow much easier. link me to your blog so I can check it out! all the very best.

Leave a Reply

